What is ISO?

ISO, short for the International Organization for Standardization, is an autonomous and non-governmental entity responsible for establishing universally accepted standards. Its inception dates back to 1947, when it was established with the primary objective of creating benchmarks for quality, safety, and processes across various industries and geographical regions. The organization was initially founded in London, uniting 65 delegates from 25 countries. However, it has since relocated its headquarters to Geneva, Switzerland.ISO’s influence has expanded significantly over the years, with its membership now comprising 164 countries. Through rigorous collaboration and collective expertise, ISO has successfully developed and published an impressive catalog of 22,782 international standards, which are acknowledged and adhered to by its member nations.The name “ISO” was chosen strategically, derived from the Greek word “isos,” meaning equal. This decision ensures that the abbreviation remains consistent and recognizable worldwide, irrespective of the language or nation in which it is acknowledged.

What is an ISO Certificate?

An ISO Certificate signifies compliance with the standards established by the International Organization for Standardization (ISO). The ISO, an abbreviation for the International Organization for Standardization, is a non-profit entity that sets benchmarks for the quality, safety, and efficiency of an organization’s products and services.

By obtaining ISO certification, businesses can enhance the quality and effectiveness of their operations. In the face of growing corporate competition, it has become increasingly essential to deliver high-quality goods and services to maintain a competitive edge in the market.

The ISO certification not only bolsters a company’s credibility but also improves its overall efficiency. To become ISO certified, organizations must develop a quality system that meets ISO requirements. The certification process involves both internal and independent audits of the company’s system to ensure conformity with the established standards.

Benefits of ISO Certificate

  1. ISO standards play a vital role in empowering businesses to deliver enhanced services to their consumers, leading to heightened customer satisfaction.
  2. ISO certification holds significant benefits, directly impacting a company’s credibility and facilitating effective marketing efforts.
  3. For government project bidding or tendering, an ISO Certificate is often a mandatory requirement, underscoring its importance in accessing governmental opportunities.
  4. In the realm of international business, ISO certification serves as a crucial factor in establishing an organization’s credibility.
  5. The acquisition of ISO Certification leads to improved operational efficiency within organizations, with the ISO Certification Agency offering valuable assistance in developing Standard Operating Procedures (SOPs) and work instructions.
  6. By implementing ISO standards, organizations can achieve better resource management.
  7. ISO certification guarantees that product quality aligns with international standards, thereby reducing the likelihood of product order rejections due to defects.

There are numerous types of ISO certification that are listed below:

  1. ISO 9001:2008- Quality Management System
  2. OHSAS 18001 – Occupational Health & Safety Management System
  3. ISO 37001 – Anti-bribery control systems
  4. ISO 31000 – Risk Management
  5. ISO 27001 – Information Security Management System
  6. ISO 10002 – Compliant Management System
  7. ISO 14001:2015 – Environment Management System
  8. ISO 26000 – Social Responsibility
  9. ISO 28000 – Security Management
  10. ISO 22008 – Food Safety Management
  11. SA 8000 – Social accountability
  12. EnMS EN 16001 ISO 50001 – Energy Management
  13. SO/IEC 17025 – Testing and calibration laboratories
  14. SO 13485 – Medical devices
  15. ISO 639 – Language codes
  16. ISO 4217 – Currency codes
  17. ISO 3166 – Country codes
  18. ISO 8601 – Date and time format
  19. ISO 20121 – Sustainable events
  20. ISO/IEC 27001 – Information protection control